MEETING AGREED SYLLABUS CONFERENCE (ASC)

DATE Monday, 14th June, 2010 to follow the SACRE meeting AT

approximately 5.30 pm

VENUE CONFERENCE ROOM 3 - CIVIC CENTRE

SACRE CLERK KATE SIMONDS 023 8083 2413

Email: kate.simonds@southampton.gov.uk

MEMBERS SEE ATTACHED LIST

#### AGENDA

- 1. WELCOME, APOLOGIES AND CHANGES OF MEMBERSHIP
- 2. STATEMENT FROM THE CHAIR
- 3. <u>DECLARATION OF INTERESTS</u>
- 4. MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING INCLUDING MATTERS ARISING

To approve and sign as a correct record the minutes of the meeting held on 8 March 2010, attached.

## 5. <u>UPDATE FROM THE SECONDARY PHASE INSPECTOR</u>

To consider verbal updates regarding:

- Timeline for implementation
- Funding and resources
- Process for ratification of Agreed Syllabus

Friday, 4 June 2010

SOLICITOR TO THE COUNCIL

# STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR RELIGIOUS EDUCATION MEMBERSHIP

## **GROUP A**

#### **Christian Denominations\***

(\* Religions and other bodies listed in the SACRE Constitution)

The Roman Catholic Church Rev David Sillince
The Baptists Rev David Turner

The Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)

Bridget Goom

The Greek Orthodox Church Gregory Hadjikyriacou

The Fellowship of Independent Evangelical

Churches

Mrs Margaret Blake

The Methodist Church Ms Gail Ratcliffe

The United Reformed Church Vacancy

The Assemblies of God

Peter Howard

The Salvation Army
Major Ruth Hill

#### Other Religions (6)

Religions other than Christianity (as listed in the SACRE Constitution) – Baha'i, Buddhism, Judaism, Hinduism, Islam, Sikhism = 6

Baha'i Jeff Lynn

Buddhist David Vane

Hindu Priti Dave

Jewish Ms Mag Kushner

Muslim Anas Al-Korj

Sikh Bharpoor Singh

### **GROUP B**

(Four representatives of the Church of England)

#### The Church of England

Tony Blackshaw

Rev Canon Geoff Annas

Anne Steele-Arnett

Lilian Weatherley

#### **GROUP C**

(Six teachers representing associations recognised by the Authority for the purposes of consultation and negotiation)

Julian Bryant

Sian Roberts

National Union of Teachers (NUT)

Jackie Meering

The National Association of Schoolmasters/

Union of Women Teachers (NASUWT) Mr D Parrott
Voice Mr R Palmer

The Association of Teachers and Lecturers

(ATL)

Association of School and College Leaders Ruth Evans

(ASCL)

National Association of Headteachers Ellen Humphries

(NAHT)

# **GROUP D**

(4+substitute) - Four representatives of the Southampton City Council, at least two of whom shall be elected members of the City Council)

## **Southampton City Council**

Councillor Carol Cunio

Councillor Parvin Damani (CHAIR)

Councillor Edward Daunt (VICE-CHAIR)

Councillor Brian Parnell

GROUP D SUBSTITUTE Mrs. K. Martin

# **OTHERS (Non-voting)**

**CO-OPTED MEMBERS** 

Humanism Ms. Chris Robinson

Primary School RE Teacher Anna Adams

**OBSERVERS** 

Central Baptist Church Rev. David Masters

Representative of Teachers' Subject Network/Aspirant Advanced Skills

Teacher (RE)